Memory Box

Who has never watched the #EPICmoviewin (in my opinion)  Forrest Gump? He is a mentaly unhealthy person who tells his story in a bus stop while waiting for his bus to arrive so he can finally be with the woman he has loved through his entire life. What I think amazing with this movie is the fact that Forest has this little box of his memories, and he tells the stories that box holds. The most amazing things is to see how people treat him while he continues telling his story, even when the listeners change.

Forrest Gump also catches dearly my attention for the amazing sentences he reminds of his mother. Sentences like “My mama always said ‘Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get'”, or “Mama always said ‘There’s an awful lot you can tell about a person by their shoes'” were always on my mind. One that was really nice to hear him saying was “Mamma said “Stupid is as stupid does'”. And it was really amazing to see this “child” repeating those wise words taught by his mother.

But what I want to focus is the memory box and Forrest’s amazing memory. I was always amazed by how detailed he could be about facts of his life, things people told him, things he saw and experienced. I’m gonna be honest … my memory sucks. You can ask anyone who knows me for a while, my memory sucks. Sometimes I can barely remember what I did few minutes ago! And that really worries me! It should … I’m barely 21 and I wonder how I’ll be when I’m 60! My great-grandmother, who died a couple of years ago with almost 80 I guess, had a better memory than I do!!! That’s scary to some people!!!

But going back to that memory box … I usually find myself trying to remember things from the past, faces, places, situations. And I always thought of a memory box, you know, with all the best, worst, terrible, amazing, funny, annoying moments of life. Wouldn’t you want that?! I wish I had a pen-drive I could stuck on the back of my head and upload all my memories and store them so I could watch them time after time.

So as this is not possible, I’ve got something for 2010:

I decided to start a memory box of things I’ve been through. Trips, UN Models, friends, I’ll even commit myself to write down every stupid, idiotic, funny things I’ll say through 2010 and by the end of the year put eveything here so you can laugh along … of course the intelligent, funny sentences will be outnumbered, but I really don’t care.

A memory box is the remind ourselves that we are not alone in this world. That we share our life with a huge amount of great people and that we are here to make every moment our best! Major news, scandels, anything that has an impact in your life and/or in the world is worth of going into the box. You will see that this is not going to be the only box, maybe you’ll decide on making an album with pics and notes, or even a scrapbook. Maybe you’re too nerdy and the computer is all you’ve got … fine! But for this year, decide to make sure you arrive in the end of it remembering the things you’ve done during this year. Believe me! It’ll be much better and way funnier !!!

“Mama always said ‘There’s an awful lot you can tell about a person by their shoes. Where they’re going. Where they’ve been (…) If I think (…) real hard I could remember my first pair of shoes'”.

Esta entrada foi publicada em Random. ligação permanente.

A penny for your thoughts

